Courts, County Buildings, and Early 19th Century Officers

The act of the legislature incorporating the county provided that when some town should erect a suitable court-house and jail, the county should be deemed organized. This of course gave rise to much competition, as each town would naturally wish to secure to itself. the advantages and dignity appertaining to the county seat. . The lower portion of the county considered it the most advantageous to have Johnson made the shire town, while the northern portion wished to have it vested in Morristown. Finally the mooted question was left for a committee to settle, and Joshua Sawyer, a member of the bar, who exerted a great influence in public matters, secured the county seat for Hyde Park, and the buildings were erected there. The town bore the expense of erecting the buildings, and the court-house was built, and the county courts held there in December, 1836, where the supreme court now meets on the third Tuesday in August, and the county court on the fourth Tuesday in April, and first Tuesday in December. The building is a wood structure, containing a convenient court-room, jury room, etc., and the county clerk’s office, and office of the probate judge. In 1875, an addition of twenty-five feet was made to the length of the building.

The first county officers were as follows: judges, Jonathan Bridges, Morristown; Joseph Waterman, Johnson; State’s attorney, 0. W. Butler, Stowe; judge of probate, Daniel Dodge, Johnson; sheriff, Almerin Tinker, Morristown; bailiff, Luther H. Brown, Eden; clerk, Philo G. Camp, Hyde Park. The other chief county officers, since its organization, have been as follows:


Chief Judges


Stephen Royce 1836-50
Milo L. Bennett 1850-51
Asahel Peck 1851-57
Asa O. Aldis 1857-65
John Pierpoint May term, 1862
William C. Wilson 1865-70
Timothy P. Redfield 1870-74
Jonathan Ross Dec. term, 1874
H. Henry Powers 1875


Assistant Judges


Jonathan Bridge 1836-38
Joseph Waterman 1836-38
Isaac Pennock 1838-40
Gardner Gates 1838-40
David P. Noyes 1840-42
Nathan H. Thomas 1840-42
John Warner 1842-44
Calvin Burnett 1842-44
Nathaniel Jones 1844-46
Moses Fisk 1844-46
Vernon V. Waterman 1846-48
Alpheus Morse 1846-48
John West 1848-49
John C. Bryant 1848-49
Henry Stowell 1849-51
John Meigs 1849-51
James M. Hotchkiss 1851-53
Giles A. Barber 1851-53
Nathan Foster 1853-55
Samuel Pennock 1853-55
Alger Jones 1855-57
Eli Hinds 1855-57
John C. Page 1857-59
Eli N. Bennett 1857-59
Samuel M. Pennock 1859-61
Norman Atwood 1859-61
Jerome B. Slayton 1861-63
William C. Atwell 1861-62
Samuel Plumley 1862-64
Thaddeus Hubbell 1863-65
Lyman B. Sherwin 1864-66
Lyman W. Holmes 1865-67
Russell S. Page 1866-68
Charles S. Parker 1867-69
Farwell Wetherby 1868-70
Thomas Potter 1869-72
Prince A. Stevens 1870-72
Amasa Stevens 1872-74
James T. Parish 1872-74
Allen B. Smith 1874-76
Albert M. Woodbury 1874-76
James W. Stiles 1876-78
John H. Page 1876-78
Leander S. Small 1878-82
Edwin H. Shattuck 1878-80
Chester W. Ward 1880-81
Reuben A. Savage 1881
Horace Wait 1882


Court Auditors


David P. Noyes  
Vernon P. Noyes  
Vernon W. Waterman 1850-80


State Attorneys


Orion W. Butler 1836-38
Solomon Wires 1838-40
Harlow P. Smith 1840-42
W. H. H. Bingham 1842-44, 1849-51
Luke P. Poland 1844-46
William W. White 1846-48
Whitman G. Ferrin 1848-49
George Wilkins 1851-53
Thomas Gleed 1853-55
John A. Childs 1855-57
George W. Hendee 1857-59
Reuben C. Benton 1859-61
H. Henry Powers 1861-63
Philip K. Gleed* 1863-65
Richard F. Parker 1865-67
Charles J. Lewis 1867-69
Marcellus A. Bingham 1869-72
Albert A. Niles 1872-74
Leonard S. Thompson 1874-76
Edgar W. Thorp 1876-78
Volney P. Macutchan 1878-80
Richard F. Parker 1880-82
Philip K. Gleed 1882

  *Also appointed by the assistant judges of the Lamoille county court, October 1, 1869, to fill a vacancy occasioned by the resignation of Charles J. Lewis.



Almerin Tinker 1836-38
Riverius Camp 1838-40
Martin Armstrong 1840-42
Nathaniel P. Keeler 1842-44
Horace Powers 1844-46
Jason Crane 1846-48
George W. Bailey 1848-49
Vernon W. Waterman 1849-51
Samuel M Pennock 1851-53
Elisha Bentley 1853-54
Russell S. Page 1854-55
Emory Town 1855-57
Charles S. Parker 1857-59
Erastus P. Fairman 1859-61
Orlo Cady 1861-63
John B. Seaver 1863-65
David Randall 1865-67
William C. Doane 1867-69
George W. Doty 1869-72
Norman Camp 1872-74
Nason Chaffee 1874-76
Lyman B. Sherwin 1876-78
Jonas T. Stevens 1878-80
Norris C. Raymore 1880-82
Herbert C. Lanpher 1882


County Clerks


Philo G. Camp* 1836-48
Nathan Robinson 1848
Harlow P. Smith 1848-49
Edward B. Sawyer 1849-51, 1853-61,1868-75
Carlos S. Noyes 1851-53
Leander S. Small 1861-68
W. H. Harrison Kenfield 1875

* Wm. Camp died in the autumn of 1848, and Nathan Robinson succeeded him for the remainder of his term.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top